Logomarca IBE

Eight acclaimed scientists appointed as members of ERC Scientific Council

On December 13th, The European Commission has appointed eight new members for the Scientific Council, the governing body of the European Research Council (ERC). This is part of a staged renewal of the Scientific Council, which starts early 2013. The term of office of the new members will run till the close of 2013, when the EU Seventh Research Framework Programme ends.

The new members are

• Prof. Klaus BOCK, Danish National Research Foundation

• Prof. Athene DONALD, University of Cambridge

• Dr. Barbara ENSOLI, Istituto Superiore di Sanità

• Prof. Nuria Sebastian GALLES, University of Pompeu Fabra • Prof. Reinhard GENZEL - Max Planck Institute for Extra-terrestrial Physics

• Prof. Matthias KLEINER, German Research Foundation

• Prof. Éva KONDOROSI, Hungarian Academy of Sciences

• Prof. Reinhilde VEUGELERS, KU Leuven President of the ERC


Professor Helga Nowotny said: "The renewal of one third of the Scientific Council members comes at a crucial moment as we prepare for the transition to 'Horizon 2020'. We face a continuous rise in demand, especially from talented younger researchers throughout Europe, while the prospects of the future budget remain highly uncertain. Together with my colleagues, I welcome the eight new members who will join us next year. I am convinced that their enthusiasm, expertise and new ideas will build upon and strengthen the legacy of the outgoing founding members. Welcoming the new members also means saying farewell to those leaving. We are all indebted to them for their unconditional commitment and energy with which they pursued our shared vision to establish the ERC as the first-rate funding agency for excellent frontier research in Europe. The experience of working together has been truly unique - and the Scientific Council will continue its mission in the same spirit."

Read more: 



About ERC Frontier Research Grants Guide for Applicants for the Consolidator Grant 2013 Call: